You are here: >> Home >> Succession law resources >> Public Trustees in Australia
Public trustees in Australia

Public Trustees

Australian State and territory public trustees

Public trustees are government departments established in each state and territory to provide a range of services to the public in the particular state or territory in relation to:

  • wills
  • being an executor – either on appointed by choice when someone uses their will making service or as executor or administrator of last resort in other situations
  • managing deceased estates
  • managing trust funds
  • powers of attorney
  • guardianship (where that function is part of their responsibilities)
  • storage of wills in some cases

The links provided below are for convenience only.

New South Wales

The New South Wales Trustee and Guardian:
NSW Department of Attorney General and Justice

South Australia

South Australian Public Trustee at
Government of South Australia


State Trustees of Victoria:


The Public Trustee of Queensland:
Queensland Government

Western Australia

Public Trustee of Western Australia:
Government of Western Australia, Dept of the Attorney General


Public Trustee of Tasmania:
The Government of Tasmania/p>

Northern Territory

Office of the Public Trustee for the Northern Territory: About the Public Trustee.
Northern Territory Government, Department of the Attorney General and Justice


Public Trustee and Guardian (PTG) for the Australian Capital Territory:


B Stead
BHS Legal
Updated 16 June 2021


meaning of words in succession law, public trustees, glossary of terms in Australian succession law,meaning of words in succession law,,wills and estates in Australia, information on succession law in Australia, probate, Australian inheritance laws




Important notice: This article is intended for general interest and information only. It is not legal advice and nor should it be used as such. Always consult a legal practitioner for specialist advice specific to your needs and circumstances and rely on that.

© BHS Legal

Return to top