Articles on old Australian Courthouses

BHS Legal

Browse published articles on random historical aspects, both legal and non-legal, of early Australian Courthouses.  Not all courthouses are currently operating as a courthouse.

Early Australian Courthouses

New South Wales


Berry Courthouse, early Australian Courthouses

Berry Courthouse (former) 1892, NSW

Early courthouses of South Australia

Willunga Courthouse, early Australian courthouses, old Australian courthouses

Willunga Courthouse (former) 1855, SA

Early courthouses of Victoria


Yackandandah Courthouse (former) 1864, Victoria


Port Douglas Courthouse, early Australian Courthouses, old Australian Courthouses, colonial Australian courthouses

Port Douglas Courthouse (former) 1879, QLD

Western Australia

Northam Courthouse, early Australian courthouses

Northam Courthouse, WA

Many courthouses have been listed as heritage items on state registers.  For example the Heritage Branch of the New South Wales Government, Environment and Heritage, is responsible for the State Heritage Register, here. 

© BHS Legal
February 2015

Header image: Lismore Courthouse, NSW, by B Stead.

Cootamundra Court House, early Australian courthouses, old Australian courthouses

Coat of Arms of the former courthouse at Young, New South Wales